Grandma’s rambling again…….

Grandma’s rambling again…………

I am so happy today! The sun finally came out and Spring has decided it is time for everything to bloom. Babies are playing in the pastures and everywhere flowers are reaching for the sun! I don’t care if we go right into summer because I am so tired of rain and cold and snow and nasty days. Spring is a rebirth of our world and another of God’s gifts!

Went to the chiropractor today. She is 50 miles away from me, very good and helps me a lot with my neck and back pain but  we probably won’t be able to see her much any more with gas going up to $4.00 a gallon. I often wonder what these huge oil companies are thinking when they keep raising prices and making huge profits and all on the backs of the little people. Gas prices have already forced my husband and me to sell our Fifth Wheel and truck. When you only get 5 miles to the gallon when pulling the rig, it rather precludes any distance travel, especially when you live in a rural area.  I wonder why we (the American people) allow this to happen? Is there not something that we as voters can do about it? Can’t we put people in Congress who have OUR interests at heart? We are senior citizens on a fixed income living in a rural area and we struggle to decide whether to buy a prescription or food. And don’t get me started on the drug companies.

You know, people can only take so much and then they just give up. I feel sorry for those people who do not even have a social security income or Medicare. If we did not have Medicare, we would not see the doctors at all.

Another thing came to my attention the other day as it hit rather close to home. The subject of “bullying”. I see that the TV has ads now trying to bring it out and get the public’s attention. This is such a sad thing. Kids are naturally cruel (can someone tell me why?) but this goes beyond cruel. When bullying can cause so much pain and self-loathing and even suicide, we need to step in and do something. I guess that the woodshed is an outdated idea now but something has be done. Come to think of it, the Bible does say “spare the rod and spoil the child”. The punishment for bullying should be enough to make someone think twice before doing it.

I never understood bullying anyhow. My mother used to say that I never met a stranger, as I talk to everybody all the time. I have met the most interesting people and heard the most interesting stores by doing just that. Just think, the person that is being bullied could have the most exciting story to share or could be meant to be a life-long friend!  How sad that the bully is missing this!

More old cowboy wisdom:  There are three kinds of men: The ones that learn by reading.  The few who learn by observation.  The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence and find out for themselves.

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grandma’s rambling again…….

  1. Dee H. says:

    Lots of good stuff–old fashioned horse sense. Your musings should touch a nerve with any number of people because they’re subjects we all deal with. Are you getting comments from any other people?

Leave a Reply

