Ramblings continue

Found the nicest lady from Brazil today. She has a blog about her two cats. Anybody who has ever known a cat will enjoy. Very entertaining.  http://alifebewhiskered.wordpress.com/      

Today we went to Mass. I was privileged to be one of the Lectors this morning and read the second reading. My husband served as an Eucharistic Minister. I could not help but notice the way some of the parishioners came to church as they filed past to take part in the Eucharistic Sacrament.  As my friend says, don’t these people own mirrors? When my mother took us to church on Sundays, she always wore a hat and gloves. My sister and I wore little hats and gloves. I realize that was a long, long time ago but my mother always said that we should dress up to go to visit the House of the Lord. I always wear a hat to Mass even now. It is no longer required in the Catholic Church, but I was raised that way.

Besides, I LIKE hats! Most any kind of hat. I like the Victorian Ladies wonderful hats and the Three Musketeers hats. I like Mae West (my idol) and her huge hats! I like cowboy hats, and usually what is under them! Lol 

Men like hats on women. It makes them look elegant and stylish. It makes them look like ladies. I get more compliments from men about my hats than I do women. I wish hats would come back. That’s ok, I will wear my hats anyhow. 

Now I want to complain about one of my really pet peeves…..women who pee all over the toilet seat! That thin little piece of seat cover does not prepare us for the shock of the wet butt we get! Do they think if they stand up that they will not catch anything or do they have penis-envy? Do they not realize that sexually-transmitted diseases are exactly that, transmitted by SEX? If they were transmitted by the toilet seat they would call them TOILET-transmitted diseases! In all my lifetime I can honestly say I have NEVER met a woman who caught some disease from a toilet seat. 

HELP! You have to just wonder what on earth Congress is thinking! Congressman Bill Shuster has proposed an amendment (#6) to the FAA Reauthorization Bill, which would undermine the hard work of the 111th Congress with regard to HR 5900 and Airline Safety. In effect, this amendment would “undo” the FAA’s long fought battle for “One Level of Safety.” They are trying to say AGAIN that cargo carriers don’t need as much rest as passenger carriers before flying which is absurd but UPS, FedEX and others have deep pockets in Washington. This directly affects my son and why they can even entertain a thought that cargo carrier pilots don’t need as much rest as passenger carrier pilots is beyond me. You could fit a passenger plane inside some of these cargo carriers! Please contact your congressmen and beg them to vote against this amendment. You can go to this link to find out the addresses for your state.  http://www.senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm

My son needs just as much rest as a passenger pilot and maybe even more. They put their economics ahead of their personnel. Have you seen the profits these companies post each quarter? ‘nuff said

 The wisdom today comes from my idol, Mae West, “You only live once but if you do it right, once is enough.”

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ramblings continue

  1. Kimberley says:

    Mama I love your blog! You have wonderful stories, wisdom and a great sense of humor. I also can now print these for your future generations. lol Anyway I think this will be fun. Does that mean I still need to call once a week? lol Love you tons!

  2. Eleanor says:

    Thank you so much for the mention. I’m pleased you enjoy my cats’ antics.

  3. Dee H. says:

    AMEN to your rant about toilet seats. The irony is that this imbiciles are perpetrating the very thing they themselves are trying to avoid. How RUDE! BTW, have you used the ladies room at Food Maxx? You could read a book through their so-called toilet seat liners. I’ve never seen anything so flimsy–it’s almost useless.

    I’m going to the website about the cargo flyers.

    I don’t know if you’re getting any satisfaction from blogging, but I’m loving it. ❤

Leave a Reply

