Tuesday’s child

Today is Tuesday and for some reason it reminded me of that old fortune-telling song about children: 

Monday’s child is fair of face, Tuesday’s child is full of grace, Wednesday’s child is full of woe, Thursday’s child has far to go, Friday’s child is loving and giving, Saturday’s child works hard for a living, But the child who is born on the Sabbath Day Is bonny and blithe and good and gay. 

This rhyme was first recorded in A. E. Bray’s Traditions of Devonshire (Volume II, pp.287-288) in 1838 and was collected by James Orchard Halliwell in the mid-nineteenth century.

I wonder if it really does tell you what you will have to go through. I was born on a Thursday and I guess I have gone pretty far! I always thought it was a pretty sad poem anyhow, only Sunday’s child has a good fortune.

My mother was always quoting the Proverbs, you know, like “Haste makes waste” and oh I will NEVER forget the one about the task: “If a task is once begun, never leave it ‘til it’s done. Be the labor great or small, do it well or not at all”. I always said ok not at all, but that never worked. I don’t think that is a Proverb but one of my mother’s Proverb. Lol.  Speaking about my mother, she was the original lady. She always looked as if she had just stepped out of a bandbox as they say and she never cussed that I knew of. On the other hand, my father had a vocabulary like a mule-skinner and guess who I learned the most words from! I really tried hard to be a lady like my mother but sometimes when you are cornering a hinky horse, trying to get a rope on it, being a lady is not at the top of my concerns. The language I learned from my daddy did not really help but it made me feel better! lol

The reason for my thoughts today is that as I said earlier, my daughter and I are searching genealogy. Incidentally, my daughter has a blog about her grandchildren http://selfreflectionisoverrated.wordpress.com Stop by for a visit. Anyone with grandchildren will get a laugh or two! Back to genealogy: have discovered so far that I had a great I-don’t-remember-how-many-times grandfather who fought in the Civil War on the Confederate side and died in a Yankee Prison. Also, the same number of greats grandfather who fought on the Yankee side and was a hero, mustered out with a veteran’s pension and had 13 children! Since my daddy was from Mississippi and my momma was from Illinois, this makes sense! I remember mother telling me that when she and my daddy first got married and he took her to meet his family, everyone kept saying, “here comes Jack and his damn Yankee bride”. She was quite upset but daddy told her, honey down south damnYankee is one word!

Have also found out lots of interesting stuff and some is quite surprising! If you have a lot of time, you should try it. What happens is one thing leads to another and suddenly you have spent hours on the computer. It is addicting to say the least.

I decided not to rant about anything today, even though I have been reading the newspapers. Yes I still read newspapers. Does anyone else? I don’t watch the news a lot because everything is so depressing. It would be nice if they had a happy ending story once in a while.

Quote for the day: A pun is the lowest form of humor, unless you thought of it yourself. Doug Larson

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuesday’s child

  1. Dee H. says:

    Ya know, I was born on a Sunday–Mother’s Day, to be exact. About puns: I read somewhere that intelligent people enjoy puns the most. I’ve always subscribed to that theory.

  2. I’m Sunday’s child and I have been SO blessed with a great family, a wonderful job and amazing people in my life. I love being a Sunday child! Great blog post! Keep them coming! John

Leave a Reply

