WHAT did he say?

Time editor says burning Bibles OK, but not Qu’rans……..  Times Bobby Ghosh explains on MSNBC that burning Bibles is OK since it is a book written by men, but burning the Koran is a terrible offense since the Muslim holy book was written by God. 

Time Magazine World editor Bobby Ghosh, who explained to MSNBC Todd that burning a copy of the Qu’ran was “much more inflammatory than burning a Bible”

Quote: “The thing to keep in mind that’s very important here is that the Koran to Muslims, it is not — it is not the same as the Bible to Christians. The Bible is a book written by men. It is acknowledged by Christians that it is written by men. It’s the story of Jesus. But the Koran, if you are a believer, if you’re a Muslim, the Koran is directly the word of God, not written by man. It is transcribed, is directly the word of God. That makes it sacred in a way that it’s hard to understand if you’re not Muslim. So the act of burning a Koran is much more — potentially much, much more inflammatory than if you were to burn a — burn a Bible.”

EXCUSE ME? WHAT PLANET IS THIS GUY FROM? I was always taught that the Bible was the Word of God! And this is an editor of Time World Magazine?  Someone needs to have a long talk with this ol’ boy!

 I should learn to never be surprised at what I see or hear any more. This new communication style of texting. Forget teaching spelling in school any more. My friend and I were discussing this at lunch yesterday and that no one uses the telephone anymore to talk to people. Everything is Texting, or social sites like Facebook. People are beginning to get completely away from communicating directly face to face. What will happen when you can no longer “read” body language, or look someone in the eye? Will we all end up in our lonely rooms, surrounded by technology, never to hear a human voice again? There’s a science fiction story in the making! Idk whut do u thk? Oh I just had a chilling thought: can you image the old classics or Shakespeare translated into TEXT? 

Speaking of which, I am not reading old classics but I do have lots of books and I do read quite a bit. I have rather eclectic tastes in what I read but I have “phases” where I read a lot of the same genre. Right now I am reading Mystery and Romantic Suspense. I am trying out new authors while also staying with the old favorites. I was just wondering when the F-word became an adjective? It was always my impression that people who used profanity did it because they weren’t smart enough to think of any other words to put in its place. One would think that published authors would not have trouble finding words. At any rate, not wanting to waste my time reading that kind of “stuff”, I usually throw the book right on the get-rid-of-pile. I am also saddened to see that some of my old favorites are resorting to using this language, I suppose in order to be more modern? At any rate, those books go on the get-rid-of pile too, albeit reluctantly. 

On the same subject, some movies can’t be tolerated and TV is really becoming the “vast wasteland” someone once called it.  I think there are only three shows I can actually watch and enjoy. NCIS, Harry’s Law and CSI, although I do miss Grissom. Lol 

OK, older generation wisdom today:  You know you are getting older when everything either dries up or leaks.

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WHAT did he say?

  1. Kimbrial says:

    Mom you say everything so well! I so agree with what you said about books and the media! And that garbage about the bible not being the Word of God! I am speechless what idiots there are in the world!!! They are going to be surprised at the end of the world! Love you keep up the great blog

  2. Dee H. says:

    Thank you, dear dear friend, for a much welcomed laugh after having my PET scan (no golden retriever was involved). I say amen to your wise words, except that I would add Dancing with the Stars as a program worth my time. And don’t forget CBS’ Sunday Morning anthology. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the stories they air. I like most anything that’s uplifting. Must be why I love you. ~Dee

Leave a Reply

