My Love-Hate Relationship with my Computer

Ok, I admit I resisted moving into the technology world until I found out no one knew what a typewriter was anymore and if you could not put “computer-literate” on an application for a job, you might as well forget it. My son brought the creature into the house one day, sat me down in front of it and said “it won’t hurt you, mom”.  I will let you in on a little secret: computers are sentient! They KNOW when you are afraid of them! Thus began my love-hate relationship. 

One day my computer is being very nice, letting me surf into many new and interesting worlds. I took a trip to the Aquarium in Chicago and a virtual tour of the Egyptology Museum in Cairo! Was looking for Christian clip-art and found myself watching whales off the coast of Australia. Links are exciting!

And then, Dr. Jekyll showed up…or was it Mr. Hyde? Or both?  My Internet Explorer was telling me it could not open the website I wanted and by the way, there is a website link even now that I used before for years and can’t open now. *sigh* It was also telling me that my Microsoft Word was ‘not responding’ and if I did not get this web-protection program that was flashing at me immediately, my computer would detonate in 30 seconds. As if that was not enough, all my photographs disappeared and my email crashed. My monitor was blank.

Calling the technician right away was not too helpful as it was extremely difficult to understand him as I do not speak Hindi. I asked him to email the answer and I think I got that request across.  Anxiously awaiting my email response and hoping I could get my email to work, I sat at the computer tensely. A few minutes later, the email appeared and my answer showed up: I could not understand your explanation of your problem. Perhaps it started when you turned computer power button ON?

Ok, so the poor tech guys do get some strange phone calls: “It says press any key. I can’t find the ‘any’ key”.  Customer: “I don’t want one of those systems based on the cellulite processor.” “I’m in 386 enchanted mode.” And the best one is the email I got yesterday:  I had a problem yesterday, so I called Eric, the eleven year old next door, whose bedroom looks like Mission Control and asked him    to come over. Eric clicked a      couple of buttons and solved the problem. As he was walking away, I called after     him, ‘So, what was wrong? He replied, ‘It was an ID ten T error.’ I didn’t want to appear stupid, but nonetheless inquired, ‘An, ID ten T error? What’s that? In case I need to fix it again.’ Eric grinned…. ‘Haven’t you ever heard of an ID ten T error before? ‘No,’ I replied. ‘Write it down,’ he said, ‘and I think you’ll figure it out.’   So I wrote down:  ID10T   I used to like Eric, the little turd.

 And so the battle continues………………..I wonder why I have so many ID10T  errors? 

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Love-Hate Relationship with my Computer

  1. Kimbrial says:

    ROTFL (mom this means rolling on the floor laughing) now I am really ROTFL I crack myself up!

Leave a Reply

