Nothing to say?

Looking at a plain white sheet of paper and nothing to say. Is this what they call writer’s block?  And I cannot imagine me ever having nothing to say……….

So, was reading Time.com today on the internet and looking at pictures of the Civil War, or as they call it in the South, The War of Northern Aggression.

It has been 150 years since the War but it is not forgotten. I remember my Momma (from Illinois) telling my Daddy (from Mississippi), “My grandpappy chased your grandpappy ‘round the cornfield with a cornstalk, so don’t give me any lip!”

There were some photographs also and one was of a boy of 12.  What a horrifying thought but not unheard of. Which brings up the question of WHY do we send our brightest and best young men and women to fight in a war in a country that does not want them there? I pray every day that our young men and women in Iraq and Afghanistan come home. My best friend’s two granddaughters are in the service and one of them is in Kuwait. Young girls! Although Grandmother does have contact with her via Skype and thus can see and talk to her, she should not be there! She should be here at home on American soil, not in the desert. They all should. Ok I am ranting.

On a lighter note, who do you think will win Dancing With the Stars? I really admire Kirsti Alley for being in the competition. Show those younger girls a thing or two! Go Kirsti!

Do you have Call Waiting on your phone? Excuse me, but I think that is probably one of the rudest inventions we ever had. Talking to someone on the phone, only to have them say “wait a minute I have another call and then come back and say I have to take this it is important”. What am I, chopped liver? How insulting can you get? Just another indication of the decline of courtesy and thoughtfulness and manners. We ask why their parents did not teach them better and then realize because their parents did not teach them manners! When did we lose this basic approach to living?

Someone holds the door open for me, I say thank you. I am ahead of someone, I hold the door open. Simple courtesy. Also this is where “random acts of kindness” come in, too. How nice to be on the receiving end of a random act of kindness and how good it feels inside to be on the giving end of one!

Ouote for the day: Be yourself. Everybody else is already taken…..Unknown

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing to say?

  1. Dee H. says:

    As far as I’m concerned, you can’t say enough about the lack of civility in society. Technology seems to be held in higher esteem than people these days. Good God, I’ve turned into my grandmother! LOL

Leave a Reply

